Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Guide to the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition

Laureates: Where Are They Now?
Fact file
Deadline14 Oct 2020 - 14 Oct 2021
Finals14 - 18 Jun 2022
WhereFort Worth, United States
Age groups18 - 31 (Applicants must have been born after 12 June 1990, and on or before 2 June 2004

Gold:   $100,000

Silver:    $50,000

Bronze:  $25,000

Entry conditions

The Sixteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition is open to pianists of all nationalities. First prize winners of previous Van Cliburn International Piano Competitions are not eligible to compete. Applicants must have been born after June 12, 1990, and on or before 2 June 2004. Videos will be submitted through the online application process. Submissions must be between 35 and 40 minutes in length. The repertoire will consist of works chosen by the pianist and may be selected from works offered for the Competition recital rounds. Only complete works will be accepted. The video must be filmed with the pianist’s face and hands in the frame at all times.

Application deadline for the 2022 competition: October 14, 2021

Schedule: The competition will take place between May – June 18, 2022

Screening auditions Approximately 135 applicants perform 40-minute recitals in eight cities across Asia, Europe, and North America

Preliminary round Van Cliburn Concert Hall at TCU, 30 competitors perform a 40-minute recital, to include commissioned work of 4-6 minutes by Stephen Hough

Quarterfinal round Van Cliburn Concert Hall at TCU, 18 competitors perform a 40-minute recital

Semifinal round (June 2–6, 2022) Bass Performance Hall, 12 competitors in two phases

  1. 60-minute recital
  2. Mozart concerto to be selected from a list with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra and conductor Nicholas McGegan

Final round (June 14 – 18, 2022) Bass Performance Hall, 6 competitors perform two concertos, to be selected from two separate lists, with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra and conductor Marin Alsop.

Recital repertoire not to be repeated in Preliminary, Quarterfinal, and Semifinal Rounds.


Prizes and Career Management Packages to be announced January 2021

Watch on video

Laureates: Ralph Votapek (1962), Radu Lupu (1966), Barry Douglas (1985), Olga Kern (2001), Noboyuki Tsujii (2009), Haochen Zhang (2009), Vadym Kholodenko (2013), Beatrice Rana (2013), Yekwoon Sunwoo (2017)

The Jury

Marin Alsop, jury chairman (United States), Jean-Efflam Bavouzet (France), Rico Gulda (Austria), Andreas Haefliger (Switzerland), Wu Han (Taiwan/United States), Stephen Hough (United Kingdom), Anne-Marie McDermott (United States), Gabriela Montero (Venezuela), Orli Shaham (Israel/United States), Lilya Zilberstein (Russia)

Attending the competition

All rounds of competition are open to the public. Premium ticket packages will go on sale Spring 2021.

For more information please visit the website of The Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.