Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo

Composer: Brian, Havergal (1876-1972)

Fact file
Year of birth1876
Year of death1972
Latest reviewsSee more...

Havergal Brian's monumental Gothic Symphony

A work scheduled to last nearly two hours could be excused for starting with a long slow build up, but Havergal Brian’s massive Gothic Symphony (the longest symphony ever composed) bursts onto the scene with a brisk and bustling march-like flourish, contrasted briefly with a delicate violin solo that reminds us that this is very much an English composition.
Read more