Unsere Datenschutzrichtlinien wurden am Freitag 31 Januar 2020 aktualisiertMehr InformationenOK
Bachtrack logo
Young artists

Streams und Videos-on-Demand: Pictures at an Exhibition

Online auf www.konserthuset.se ansehenKonserthuset PlayAufgenommen am Konserthuset Stockholm: Grünewaldsalen, Stockholm, Schweden
Datum/Zeit in Ihrer Zeitzone
Freitag 23 April 202112:15
On-Demand unbegrenzt

Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition is one of the best known classical works. This music illustrates ten paintings by the artist Viktor Hartmann, who died suddenly at the age of 39. To pay tribute to him, his friends, including Mussorgsky, arranged an exhibition in 1874 in St. Petersburg with over 400 of his works.

Gripped by the memories the exhibition called to mind, Mussorgsky quickly composed his piano suite Pictures at an Exhibition that same year. The so-called promenade theme, which serves as a transition between the different “pictures”, has become very well known.

Here, we will experience the piece in a special arrangement by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra’s solo trumpet player Joakim Agnas, who is also a jazz musician. He was a member of Stockholm Chamber Brass for many years and is also a studio musician, arranger and composer. He has composed a number of popular fanfares.

Mobile Version