Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Video streamed event and on demand: Pictures at an Exhibition

Watch online on www.konserthuset.seKonserthuset PlayRecorded at Konserthuset Stockholm: Grünewaldsalen, Stockholm, Sweden
Free to view
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Friday 23 April 202112:15
On-demand indefinitely

Modest Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition is one of the best known classical works. This music illustrates ten paintings by the artist Viktor Hartmann, who died suddenly at the age of 39. To pay tribute to him, his friends, including Mussorgsky, arranged an exhibition in 1874 in St. Petersburg with over 400 of his works.

Gripped by the memories the exhibition called to mind, Mussorgsky quickly composed his piano suite Pictures at an Exhibition that same year. The so-called promenade theme, which serves as a transition between the different “pictures”, has become very well known.

Here, we will experience the piece in a special arrangement by the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra’s solo trumpet player Joakim Agnas, who is also a jazz musician. He was a member of Stockholm Chamber Brass for many years and is also a studio musician, arranger and composer. He has composed a number of popular fanfares.

Mobile version