Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

West Cork Chamber Music Festival

Friday 28 May – Sunday 25 July, 2021

The 2021 programme features world-class musicians performing an eclectic programme of works. Bantry and Beyond will present World Premieres of new quartets by Deirdre Gribbin and Garth Knox played by Pacifica and Ragazze Quartets with Irish premieres of works by Lera Auerbach and Finola Merivale. The Series opens with a Classical Prelude of Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert and Brahms that leads the way into a powerful Russian series from Mussorgsky to Shostakovich. Solo performances feature Ibragimova, Tiberghien, Gluzman, Fedorova, Petcu, Féjarvári and Grynyuk. There are great Quartets, a cello series, singers from Ireland, France and Germany, great violinists and period instrument ensembles.  

As the West Cork Chamber Music Festival musicians could not come to Bantry, the Festival has gone to the musicians. Festival-goers will become virtual travellers to destinations around Europe and USA.

Spectacular venues have been selected throughout Europe and the US - famous concert halls in Amsterdam, Utrecht and Chicago; historic Great Houses of Ireland and the Netherlands; a centuries old abbey with a fabulous library; Palaces in Prague and Vienna; old churches in London, Bantry and Amsterdam; a vaulted tunnel under a vanished convent in Cologne; studios in Amsterdam and Berlin; and Music Centres in Hungary and Italy.