Almost every day, we receive press releases about classical music, opera, ballet and dance events that have been cancelled or postponed, as well as some that have moved from live to online or have been created from scratch as virtual events. We don't have time to keep track of every listing in detail in the event finder – the details are changing too quickly for us to keep up – but we'll keep updating this page as and when news reaches us.

Wednesday 5th August
Hungarian State Opera announce the re-opening of the Eiffel Art Studios with a gala concert on 19th August featuring guest star Jonas Kaufmann.

Tuesday 4th August
Deutsche Oper am Rhein announces schedule for September and October.

Monday 3rd August
Edinburgh International Festival announces this summer's programme of original digital content.

Friday 31st July
Houston Symphony
announces four live streamed programmes for August under the banner "Live from Jones Hall".

Thursday 30th July
Opera Philadelphia announces the launch of a digital opera channel and digital operatic premieres throughout the season.

Boston Symphony Orchestra cancels its autumn season (16th September to 28th November) and announces to create and distribute new online content.

The Grange Festival presents Precipice, an outdoor promenade performance in late August.

Greek National Opera announces fully staged live performances from October to December. 

Wednesday 29th July
Opera Australia announces it will postpone the premiere of its fully digital Ring Cycle to 2021, originally scheduled to open in November this year.

Tuesday 28th July
Garsington Opera announces four semi-staged performances of Beethoven's Fidelio to take place in September.

Suntory Hall announce a modified programme for their Summer Festival for August 22nd to 30th.

Stuttgart Ballet announces first half of 2020-21 season.

Monday 27th July
Teatro alla Scala announces a new programme for autumn 2020.

Thursday 23rd July
Glyndebourne Festival announces new titles for Glyndebourne Open House through to 2nd August.

Monday 20th July
Bavarian Radio Symphony announce that all programmes scheduled to take place from September to December will be announced on 1st September.

Friday 17th July
The Barbican announces that all planned autumn 2020 concert from 1st September to 14th December have been cancelled.

Thursday 16th July
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
announce that all programmes scheduled to take place from 17th September to 23rd December have been cancelled.

Monday 13th July
Royal Festival Hall and Queen Elizabeth Hall announce to be closed to the public until the end of the year.

Philharmonia Orchestra announces that all live concerts up to December 2020 are cancelled.

Monday 6th July
Toronto Symphony Orchestra cancels all concerts in its 2020/21 season, replacing them by "redesigned concerts and programs in communities across the GTA".

Thursday 25th June
Komische Oper Berlin announces an amended programme for September to December.

Wednesday 24th June
Bayerische Staatsoper announces an amended programme for its autumn season.

Tuesday 9th June
Salzburg Festival announces details of amended summer programme, including two fully staged operas, Così fan tutte and Elektra.

Monday 1st June
The Metropolitan Opera cancels the first few months of its 2020-21 season and announces to reopen with a special gala performance on 31st December 2020.

Last updated on 6 August 2020