Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Competition: Ferruccio Busoni International Piano Competition


The Ferruccio Busoni International Piano Competition was launched on September 12th, 1949. It immediately captured the attention of the contemporary music scene, due in part to the presence of an extraordinary Honorary Committee, which included Claudio Arrau, Wilhelm Backhaus, Alfred Cortot, Walther Gieseking, Dinu Lipatti, Arthur Rubinstein and Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli, who made a considerable sum of money available for the second prize. From a one-off competition, it would soon become an indispensable annual event.

In that first competition of 1949, the just-18 Alfred Brendel earned an honorable fourth prize. In 1952 the Busoni Prize (which at the time consisted of a sum of 500,000 lire, 15 concerts and a Schulze & Pollmann grand piano) was awarded to the Roman pianist Sergio Perticaroli. In 1956, First Prize was awarded to Jörg Demus; the following year it went the extraordinary sixteen-year-old Martha Argerich. A piano-composition competition also took place in some years: the performance of fourteen-year-old Maurizio Pollini aroused amazement in 1956, when he replaced Giorgio Vidusso in the difficult task of performing the works chosen by the jury at the very last moment.

In the 1960s, European pianism opened up to the U.S. school with First Prize going to Jerome Rose (1961), Michael Ponti (1964), Garrick Ohlsson and Richard Goode (First and Second Prize, respectively, in 1966), Ursula Oppens (1969). In the 1970s the First Prize of Brazilian Arnaldo Cohen (1972) stands out, while in the eighties Louis Lortie (1984) and Lilja Zilbernstein (1987) were unanimously awarded First Prizes, which launched great careers. The Russian school dominated the 1990s, with wins by Anna Kravtchenko (1992), Alexander Shtarkman (1995) and Alexander Kobrin (1999). In 2002 the competition changed structure, inaugurating its biennial structure. With the last Busoni Prize awarded to Emanuil Ivanov (2018/2019) the next Grand Prize that will enrich our Hall of Fame is awaited with baited breath.

Today, the Busoni Competition is much more than a piano competition. Building on its history the competition aims, through its many special projects and its festival, to create and develop a real platform for contact between teachers and young people, continuing its role as seismograph of contemporary musical life.

Fact file
Deadline22 Jan - 05 May 2022
Finals23 Aug - 03 Sep 2023
WhereBolzano, Italy
Age groups16 to 30 years old