Bachtrack logo
Flag of Poland

Composer: Szymanowski, Karol (1882-1937)

Fact file
Year of birth1882
Year of death1937
Period20th century
April 2018
Evening performance
Matinee performance
Upcoming eventsSee more...

PragueWarsaw Philharmonic Orchestra & Jacek Kaspszyk

© Slávka Zámečníková © Alfheidur Erla
Nejtek, Szymanowski, Mahler
Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra; Jacek Kaspszyk; Boris Brovtsyn; Slávka Zámečníková

StockholmStravinsky & Bartoók

Bartók, Szymanowski, Stravinsky, Enescu
Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra; Cristian Măcelaru; Nikolaj Znaider

LondonSibelius' Fifth

Janáček, Szymanowski, Sibelius
London Symphony Orchestra; Sir Simon Rattle; Janine Jansen

TokyoSir Simon Rattle conducts the London Symphony Orchestra

Ravel, Szymanowski, Sibelius
London Symphony Orchestra; Sir Simon Rattle; Janine Jansen

AmsterdamSzymanovski, Tchaikovsky and Penderecki

© Arkadiusz Berbecki
Szymanowski, Penderecki, Tchaikovsky
Meccore String Quartet
Latest reviewsSee more...

A musical celebration of Polish Independence

Jacek Kaspszyk © ICA Artists
Warsaw Philharmonic celebrates the 100th anniversary of Polish independence with performances of great local composers – Lutoslawski, Szymanowski and Szabelski – and Debussy’s La Mer for good measure.
Read more

Kavakos and Wang team up at Wigmore Hall

Leonidas Kavakos © Marco Borggreve
A long evening of very high class playing offered rich rewards in exploring modernist responses to a Debussian challenge. 
Read more

Unbelievable harmony at Carnegie Hall

Janine Jansen © Richard Termine
Starting her Perspectives series, Janine Jansen invited three outstanding musicians to join her in 20th century repertoire.
Read more

A rousing Carmina burana in Toronto

Nicola Benedetti © Simon Fowler
A crowd-pleaser is joined by a Szymanowski rarity to close the TSO's season. 
Read more

Valčuha makes Chicago Symphony bow

Juraj Valčuha © Chicago Symphony
Juraj Valčuha’s CSO debut was an evening of diverse repertoire, from Haydn to Strauss (both Johann II and Richard) to Szymanowski, the latter featuring a memorable performance by Christian Tetzlaff.
Read more