Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 31 January 2020View it hereDismiss
Buy tickets to La Cenerentola at the New National Theatre, Tokyo
Sign in
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Concerts home

Paavo Järvi and the NHK Symphony Orchestra

This listing is in the past
Southbank Centre: Royal Festival HallBelvedere Road, London, Greater London, SE1 8XX, United Kingdom
Dates/times in London time zone

Indulge yourself with Rachmaninov’s lush, lyrical symphony, and Schumann’s Concerto for Cello. The Guardian called the NHK’s most recent appearance at Royal Festival Hall ‘a rare UK showcase for an ensemble on bristlingly good form.’ Over almost a century, the illustrious Japanese orchestra has been conducted by names including Herbert von Karajan, Wolfgang Sawallisch, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Herbert Blomstedt and now Paavo Jarvi. The evening begins with Takemitsu’s beautiful How slow the wind, in which a seven-tone motif moves in a subtly changing cycle, creating an impression of delicate natural forces. Its gorgeous harmonies and textures create a soundworld reminisent of Debussy. The restrained use of the orchestra in Schumann’s Concerto for Cello provides a backdrop for the soloist’s impassioned melodies. Listeners should look forward to the work’s romantic opening and dreamily poetic slow movement. The Financial Times says of soloist Sol Gabetta: ‘she commands the sort of technique that unravels even the fiercest knot with apparently nonchalant savoir-faire.’ The luxuriously sentimental sweep of Rachmaninov’s Second makes it one of the greatest of all Russian symphonies. The composer was devastated by the premiere of his First Symphony, which went exceptionally badly, resulting in a long stretch of writer's block and extensive consultation with the psychiatrist Dr. Nikolai Dahl. It was 12 years later that he was finally able to produce his Second Symphony. While Rachmaninov continued to be haunted by memories of his earlier failure, he was vindicated by the triumphant reception of his second attempt.

Ticket prices: £65 £50 £35 £25 £15

Mobile version