Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 24 November 2023View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Work: Cello Concerto in E minor, Op.85

Find classical music concert, opera, ballet and dance listings
Fact file
ComposerElgar, Sir Edward (1857-1934)
Work typeOrchestral
Upcoming eventsSee more...

BelgradeFor 100

Belgrade Philharmonic
Baranović, Elgar, Sibelius
Belgrade Philharmonic Orchestra; Uroš Lajovic; Nicolas Altstaedt

ThessalonikiDreams #2

Loading image...
Delius, Elgar, Pärt, Copland
Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra; Vladimiros Symeonidis; Angelos Liakakis

EastbourneElgar’s Cello Concerto

Loading image...
Smetana, Elgar, Dvořák
London Philharmonic Orchestra; Gabriella Teychenné; Laura van der Heijden

BarcelonaEscocesa de Mendelssohn / Jean Guihen Queyras, Gemma New

Loading image...
Firsova, Elgar, Mendelssohn
Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya; Gemma New; Jean-Guihen Queyras

OxfordElgar Cello Concerto

Loading image...
Vaughan Williams, Elgar, Sullivan, Delius, Wood, Coates
Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra; John Wilson; Leonard Elschenbroich
Latest reviewsSee more...

Tchaikovsky with soul and spirit from Vassily Petrenko and the RPO

Loading image...
There is little doubt that the combination of Vasily Petrenko and the RPO is currently yielding magnificent results. Daniel Müller-Schott joined them for a performance of Elgar's Cello Concerto.
Read more

Routine Elgar but compelling Bruckner from the BSO

Loading image...
Thrills and disappointment in equal measure in mixed performances of two core repertory works under Mark Wigglesworth at the Lighthouse, Poole. 
Read more

Bruno Delepelaire and Han-Na Chang dazzle with the RSNO

Loading image...
Bruno Delepelaire plays unforgettable Elgar, while Han-Na Chang makes a terrific debut in the RSNO's final season concert of 2022.
Read more

Unforgettable Elgar from Isserlis and the Hallé

Loading image...
Daniele Rustioni also conducts the Hallé in a gripping account of Sibelius'  atmospheric Lemminkäinen Suite.
Read more

HK Phil thrills in Shostakovich's naughty Ninth

Loading image...
Jaap van Zweden and the Hong Kong Phil excel in Shostakovich's Ninth Symphony and give an atmospheric reading of the Sea Interludes by Britten, but cellist Jan Vogler struggles to settle in Elgar’s Cello Concerto. 
Read more