Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
Flag of United States

Composer: Barber, Samuel (1910-1981)

Fact file
Year of birth1910
Year of death1981
NationalityUnited States
Period20th century
October 2018
Evening performance
Matinee performance
Upcoming eventsSee more...

LondonEssential Haydn

Essential Haydn
Haydn, Farrenc, Barber

TorontoSt. Lawrence Quartet with Tyler Duncan

St. Lawrence Quartet with Tyler Duncan
Haydn, Golijov, Barber, Beethoven
St Lawrence String Quartet; Tyler Duncan

BernSchostakowitschs Fünfte | 3. Symphoniekonzert

Bernstein, Barber, Shostakovich
Bern Symphony Orchestra; Xian Zhang; Christian Poltera

OxfordCome, Comfort of the World: Kate Royal & Joseph Middleton

Come, Comfort of the World: Kate Royal & Joseph Middleton
Schumann, Barber
Kate Royal; Joseph Middleton

LondonRoyal College of Music

© Chris Christodoulou
Haydn, Mazzoli, Farrenc, Barber
Musicians from the Royal College of Music
Latest reviewsSee more...

Lunch with Lenny: Wallis Giunta in Bernstein and Friends

Wallis Giunta © Dario Acosta
Wallis Giunta and Michael Sikich serve up a delectable programme of Bernstein, Sondheim, and friends
Read more

Perfect music for a summer evening

James Gaffigan © Daniela Kienzler
Excellent performances by James Gaffigan and The Cleveland Orchestra of music by Barber, Mendelssohn, and Sibelius made for an enjoyable summer evening at the Blossom Music Festival. Stephen Hough was an outstanding piano soloist.
Read more

Prom 34: Juanjo Mena bids farewell to BBC Philharmonic

Juanjo Mena © Michal Novak
An intriguing programme of Britten, Walton, Barber and Copland provided dynamism, evocative imagery and new discoveries in Juanjo Mena’s valedictory concert with the BBC Philharmonic.
Read more

Three concerts and the magic mountain’s Sunday rest in Davos

Immer mit der Ruhe © Yannick Andrea, Davos Festival
The “Festival Tour” and its three-venue concerts of the Davos Festival programme included almost as many visual and outdoor delights as it did musical treats. 
Read more

Vanessa at Glyndebourne: repression in a cold climate

Virginie Verrez (Erika), Emma Bell (Vanessa) © Tristram Kenton
Brilliant staging, superb acting, a magnetic performance from Virginie Verrez and an excellent orchestral performance make a strong case for Samuel Barber's all-but-forgotten chiller.
Read more