Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 24 November 2023View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Video streamed event and on demand: Classics with Ton Koopman

Watch online on www.konserthuset.seKonserthuset PlayRecorded at Konserthuset Stockholm: Stora Salen, Stockholm, Sweden
Free to view
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Wednesday 12 May 202119:30
On-demand indefinitely

The young Russian pianist Alexandra Dovgan is exceptionally talented. She was born in 2007 and has already performed at many of the most prestigious venues, including Concertgebouw in Amsterdam and the Berliner Philharmonie. World-renowned pianist Grigory Sokolov elevates her to new heights and she has performed solos with the Moscow Symphony Orchestra, the Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra and the symphony orchestra at the Moscow Conservatory, where she is still a student. Here, she will play Beethoven’s charming and elegant Piano Concerto No. 2.

The conductor will be Baroque specialist Ton Koopman, who will lead the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in music by Johan Helmich Roman – often referred to as the father of Swedish music. And with good reason. After travelling through Europe, where he was influenced by Handel and Italian music, he returned to Sweden and built up our increasingly rich musical scene. He is best known for Drottningholm Music, but here, we will hear one of his most beautiful, elegant, and melodically vivid sinfonias.

Just like Roman’s Sinfonia, Mozart’s Symphony No. 36 begins with a slow section that transitions into an allegro. Mozart composed the symphony in the autumn of 1783, after visiting friend and patron Count von Thun in Linz, where he also organised a concert. Because he had not taken any music with him on the trip, in just two days he composed this symphony which, naturally, is called “Linz”.

This concert will be live streamed. Click here to watch.

Mobile version