Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 24 November 2023View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
What's on
Young artists

Video streamed event and on demand: Soup Concert with Winds & Piano

Watch online on www.konserthuset.seKonserthuset PlayRecorded at Konserthuset Stockholm: Grünewaldsalen, Stockholm, Sweden
Free to view
Dates/times in your browser's time zone
Friday 13 November 202012:15
On-demand indefinitely

The Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra section leaders have joined forces to create a wind quintet. And they will be presenting something incredibly special: the world premiere of Maria Lithell Flyg’s Lament and Tear. 

Maria Lithell Flyg’s music is emotional and expressive, with a streak of sadness mixed in with absurdist humour. Of Lament and Tear, she says that between the rhythmically vivacious sections, a melancholy lament emerges. The tears people cry, as well as the damage of tearing, are both encompassed by the word’s use in the title.

It is often said that Beethoven’s quintet for oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and piano was inspired by one of Mozart’s quintets (K. 452), which was composed ten years earlier. Perhaps it was. It is written in the same key and has the same instrumentation. But the two pieces also have many dissimilarities. Because it is entirely certain that in this quintet which holds the deepest gravity, the most elegant of dialogues and thematic playfulness, it is Beethoven’s voice we hear.

Menu: Creamy tomato soup with sun-dried tomatoes & scallions (lactose and gluten-three)

Mobile version