Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo

Guide to the ARD International Music Competition Munich

Fact file
SectionsCello, Bassoon, Clarinet, Percussion
Deadline31 Mar 2019
Finals11 - 15 Sep 2019
WhereMunich, Germany
Age groupsmin 16 max 29 at time of competition

How it all began…

It took place for the first time in 1952: the ARD International Music Competition, meanwhile one of the most renowned and large-scale competitions of its kind. It was founded by the public broadcasting radio stations of the Federal Republic of Germany, managed by Bavarian Broadcasting in Munich and takes place every year in September. For many of today’s world-famous artists, an award from the ARD International Music Competition in Munich represented a spring board to their major careers: Jessye Norman, Francisco Araiza, Natalia Gutman, Christoph Eschenbach, Mitsuko Uchida, Thomas Quasthoff, Yuri Bashmet, Christian Tetzlaff, Sharon Kam,Heinz Holliger, Peter Sadlo, Maurice André and the Quatuor Ebène, to name but a few.

The Competition Today

Over the years, the ARD International Music Competition with its annually changing line-upof musicians has developed into an internationally singular and highly regarded institution. It offersnot only singers and pianists but also all the other instrumentalists the podium of an international competition, both for solo and chamber music performance. Since 2001, the presence of contemporary music has been considerably reinforced through commissions to prominent composers.

Each year an average of 400 to 600 young musicians apply to take part in the competition. Then, following a preliminary round, some 200 competitors from 35 to 40 countries actually appear. The international renown of the ARD Music Competition can be noted by the high percentage of non-German participants (88 %).

The 68 th ARD International Music Competition Munich will take place from September 2 to 20, 2019in the categories Violoncello, Clarinet, Bassoon and Percussion. Application deadline is March 31, 2019.

All competitiors who reach the second round will be provided with the cost of accommodation and meals from the second round on for the duration of their further participation in the audition process.

Concert managers, concert agencies and respresentatives of the music industry will be invited to the final rounds and the prize winners' concert.

Please click here for the ARD website and more information.



1st Prize: Diyang Mei (24), China + Audience Award

2nd Prize: Yucheng Shi (25), China

3rd Prize: Takehiro Konoe (20), Japan


1st Prize: Mezzo-soprano Natalya Boeva (29),Russia

2nd Prize: Bass-baritone Milan Siljanov (31), Switzerland + Audience Award

3rd Prize: Tenor Mingjie Lei (30), China

3rd Prize: Soprano Ylva Sofia Stenberg (28), Sweden


1st Prize: Selina Ott (20), Austria

2nd Prize: Célestin Guérin (25), France

2nd Prize: Mihály Könyves-Tóth (27), Hungary + Audience Award


1st Prize: Aoi Trio, Japan

3rd Prize: Trio Marvin, Kazakhstan/Russia/Germany

3rd Prize: Trio Lux, South Korea + Audience Award

2019 Prizes

First Prize €10 000

Second Prize €7 500

Third Prize €5 000

There are also several special prizes.

Laureates: where are they now?
Looking back at the 2017 edition
Looking back at the 2016 edition