Our privacy policy was last updated on Friday 25 May 2018View it hereDismiss
Bachtrack logo
Flag of Poland

Composer: Lutosławski, Witold (1913-1994)

Fact file
Year of birth1913
Year of death1994
Period20th century
December 2018
Evening performance
Matinee performance
Upcoming eventsSee more...

PraguePärt, Schubert, Lutosławski

Pärt, Schubert, Lutosławski
Czech Philharmonic Orchestra; Manfred Honeck; Nicola Proksch; Marie-Henriette Reinhold; Patrick Grahl; Jan Martiník

ReykjavikBrantelid plays Elgar

Viðar, Elgar, Lutosławski
Iceland Symphony Orchestra; Eva Ollikainen; Andreas Brantelid

New York CityThomas Adès & Kirill Gerstein

© Brian Voce/Marco Borggreve
Debussy, Stravinsky, Lutosławski, Adès, Ravel
Thomas Adès; Kirill Gerstein

LondonKensington Symphony Orchestra

Enescu, Mahler, Lutosławski
Kensington Symphony Orchestra; Holly Mathieson; Julien Van Mellaerts

OviedoLenguajes propios I

Lenguajes propios I
Lutosławski, Bartók, Sibelius
Orquesta Sinfónica del Principado de Asturias; Baldur Brönnimann; Vadym Kholodenko
Latest reviewsSee more...

Utterly thrilling: Prelude – Skydiving from a Dream

Prelude – Skydiving from a dream © Louise Mather
Prelude – Skydiving from a Dream from Scottish Ensemble and Andersson Dance: mesmeric choreographed Bach and Lutosławski with a blistering performance of Beethoven’s Grosse Fugue played from memory and on the move. Thrilling, daring and exciting.
Read more

Restless spirits: a programme of Lutosławski and Brahms

Paarvo Järvi © Ixi Chen
Paavo Järvi and the Berlin Philharmonic in excellent renditions of seminal works of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Read more

Finding the balance? Psappha with Ligeti, Kurtág and more

Psappha © Psappha
Finding wit and introspection with Psappha in their 2018/19 season opener
Read more

Not with a whimper but a bang

Thomas Adès © Brian Voce
Commendably fine playing from the LPO conducted by Thomas Adès, and with Kirill Gerstein as soloist, three less than familiar works throw up overwhelming volumes of energy.
Read more

A celebratory platter of Polish music in the Elbphilharmonie

Alexander Liebreich © Bartek Barczyk
The Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra, Alexander Liebreich and soloist Szymon Nehring serve up works by four Polish composers in celebration of the centenary of Poland regaining its national independence.
Read more