Work: Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring)

Fact file
ComposerStravinsky, Igor (1882-1971)
Period20th century
Work typeOrchestral
Listen now by Naxos
Try it!

Watch this on-demand

Watch on Demand
The Metropolitan Opera, the Berliner Philharmoniker and a growing band of others are making great performances available at the click of a mouse, many of them in superb HD video. Try them out – you'll be amazed.
Upcoming eventsSee more...

ParisChopin, Rachmaninov, Stravinsky

Chopin, Rachmaninov, Stravinsky
Alexander Malofeyev, Piano

Aix-en-ProvencePhilharmonia Orchestra

Philharmonia Orchestra; Esa-Pekka Salonen; Karole Armitage

LondonProm 31: Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky and Stravinsky

Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra; Thomas Dausgaard; Kirill Gerstein

AmsterdamSt Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra: The Rite of Spring

Ravel, Stravinsky
St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra; Yuri Temirkanov; Jean-Yves Thibaudet

AmsterdamWynton Marsalis' Violin Concerto and Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring

Janssen, Marsalis, Stravinsky
Radio Filharmonisch Orkest; James Gaffigan; Nicola Benedetti
Latest reviewsSee more...

Tension until the bitter end: The Rite of Spring

In the first concert of their exciting series Stravinsky: Myth and Ritual celebrating the varied musical inspirations of this most iconic figure of 20th-century composers, the focus was on Rituals. 
Read more

Kent Nagano excites on eve of OSM's international tour

The Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal and Kent Nagano give terrific performances of Debussy, Prokofiev and Stravinsky as they embark on their American tour. 
Read more

Lost in translation: Big band Stravinsky

Rising superstar Gustavo Dudamel led mixed interpretations of two of Stravinky's best-loved scores; consistently good orchestral playing was augmented by occasional glimpses of brilliance. 
Read more

Two opposing Rites in Madrid

The latest concert by the Spanish National Orchestra was a fascinating opportunity to explore the contrast between Wagner and Stravinsky.
Read more

Spanning the centuries with the LPO

Three substantial works from 1800, 1913 and 2008 in an enterprising and unusual combination, performed by the London Phlharmonic Orchestra conducted by Markus Stenz, and with the Moldovan violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja as soloist.
Read more